Against Me!

Posted: June 16, 2011 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , ,

I was a little worried about this record as I really disliked the last Against Me! full length. It had some stuff on it I liked, but the production killed me and there were a couple of songs that were really terrible. Sorry if I hurt anyone’s feeling with that,  but I just couldn’t do it at all.

I’ve always really liked Against Me! so I felt like I owed it to myself to give this one a spin and it didn’t let me down. Two brilliantly written and recorded songs. The A) side is Russian Spies which had me instantly hooked. Great lyrics, great hook. The B) side is Occult Enemies which is fucking fantastic too. Both songs have this anthemic quality to them all while being fairly lo-fi. At first I thought the pitch on the record player was fucked up cause the vocals sounded off. After a couple of spins it started sounding normal to me.

This seven inch was put out by Sabot Productions. The record is on very thin vinyl and has the pop out middle. The copy I got is of the sold out pressing of Yellow Vinyl Limited to 504. It’s got a cool jacket that’s printed on the inside as well as the outside.

Comments
  1. SxPxDxCx says:

    Oh that’s good news. I wanted to pick this up but I was afraid it was some weak outtakes from White Crosses.

  2. Nick_J says:

    Man I’ve played this thing a zillion times.

Leave a comment