White Zombie – La Sexorcisto: Devil Music Vol. 1 LP Reissue

Posted: June 2, 2012 by Juan D. in Record Nerds
Tags: , ,

I can still remember the first time I had heard White Zombie. Much like every regular budding metalhead back in the late 80’s and early 90’s, it was all about what was being played on Headbangers Ball. So it was when they premiered…I think they did…the video for “Thunder Kiss ’65”. I had never heard of the band at all and as soon as the video played and the music was blasting, I was hooked. It wasn’t the typical Metal I was used to and definitely was completely different from the Hardcore and Punk I was in the midst of back then. The next day I rushed to the local record store…it may have been a Record Town (I think it was called that)…and bought the La Sexorcisto: Devil Music Vol. 1 CD. From the booklet to the music to the obscure movie references and samples throughout, I was enthralled in this band and became life-long fan. Still am.

For no specific reason(s) I never picked up the vinyl version of the album. Nowadays it fetches some big money on the ol’ eBay. You know, that glow-in-the-dark version of the record. I think that’s the first and original pressing of it. Thankfully the record has been reissued by Music On Vinyl who are well-known for high quality releases…as well as being pricey since they’re imports for us here in the U.S. A single LP can usually run from the $30+ range. But it’s worth it from what I have seen and heard with this reissue of La Sexorcisto: Devil Music Vol. 1.

Limited to 1,000 numbered copies, it’s on a clear with white smoke color…which has been joked to be “cum-color” since it does look like that. It’s a decent heavyweight vinyl and sounds just phenomenal.

The reissue is very well-done. The artwork pops. The insert is great. The vinyl is nice and heavy. And overall it sounds great. If you’re a fan of the band as I am, this is definitely well worth it as I already mentioned.

Later this month on the 25th, MOV are also reissuing Astro-Creep: 2000, White Zombie‘s 1995 follow-up. That one is supposed to be on a translucent green and also limited to 1,000 copies. This will technically be the second reissue of the record as back in 2007 a repress was done for Hot Topic stores. That reissued was on clear with red splatter and came in a clear sleeve. No jacket.

More human than human…indeed…

 

 

Comments
  1. helentythers says:

    That’s an amazing colour vinyl! I love the red splatter.

Leave a comment