Off!

Posted: December 16, 2010 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , , ,

Album – First 4 EP’s

Artist – Off!

Purchased From – Interpunk

One of the first punk albums I ever bought was Black Flag – Everything Went Black. On that album I was always obsessed with the Keith Morris material, so much to the point where I never really got into the Rollins era records. I always thought that Black Flag’s music matched Morris’ vocals so perfectly. A year later a friend of mine played me Circle Jerks and I couldn’t help but notice that the singer sounded like the dude from Black Flag. After being torn apart for not doing my punk rock homework I was told that is was the same guy and he was in fact a punk rock legend, Keith Morris.

Cut to this year when I hear Keith Morris has a new band with Dimitri Coats (Burning Brides), Steven McDonald (Redd Kross), and Mario Rubalcaba (Earthless/Hot Snakes/Rocket From the Crypt). I could only think that this sounded like a really good idea. After a few minutes I found a couple sound clips and I was blown away at how much they reminded me of Black Flag. Vicious punk rock that should be every kids introduction to the style.

I went to Interpunk and they had a pre-order set up for a 4 – 7″ box set due out in early November, this was early October I did all this. Anyway, In early November I get an email from Interpunk saying that they got the boxes in early but they are all screwed up. Long story short they push the release back another month. It finally showed up this week and it was totally worth the wait. Though the practicality of a 4 seven inch box set isn’t all that, the aesthetic is totally sick  for this sweet looking set. Here’s to hoping that they package this all on one disc some day.

Overall, if you even have the slightest though about getting this, do it! It is an instant punk classic.

Here’s a little clip I found of which there are many.

 

Comments
  1. jeremiah says:

    i LOVE the OFF! stuff..and appreciate the box concept, it looks amazing. i just cant deal with the playability factor of four 7″s. i hope they release it on a 12″…as a cohesive record. if not, i’ll probably have to still get it 🙂

  2. Nick_J says:

    Flippin records every two minutes is super lame.

  3. longgoneloser says:

    I ordered this a few weeks back but I ordered it along with the pre-order for the new Social Distortion album so have to wait til that’s released in Jan before I get it. Oh well, still looks awesome!

Leave a comment