Black God – s/t 7”

Posted: May 7, 2011 by Juan D. in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , , ,

If you’re into Louisville, KY hardcore, then Black God will be your cup ‘o tea. This band has an impressive pedigree that would make most other bands blush: Black Cross, Young Widows, Coliseum, Endpoint, By The Grace Of God, Breather Resist, and Mountain Asleep. Essentially, Black God picks up right where Black Cross left off. Makes sense since at its core, BG is comprised of Ryan Patterson and Rob Pennington.

My being a huge Endpoint fan since back in the days when I lived in Louisville, KY and where I found my foothold in hardcore music, I followed Pennington’s music after EP’s end. Black God is a nice throwback to that noisy and chaotic hardcore that By The Grace Of God hinted at and Black Cross carried. With Patterson on board, the guitars get turned up to 11 and the insanity and urgency ensue.

The group’s self-titled 7” is their first release and done via No Idea Records. The exact color breakdown is unknown at this time but the No Idea release page says that it’s a total of 1,000 copies. Knowing how No Idea operates, there will be a plethora of different colors, some insanely more limited than others.

I managed to get these two colors from No Idea. I’m sure there will be plenty others out there. Should I make the attempt at having a complete pressing of this release? Oof…

In the process I also managed to get a test press of this. Var of No Idea posted on VC that he had a few for sale to help fund an upcoming release. I did not even get a chance to think about hesitating in contacting him to get one. Done and done!

Pretty plain test press. No cover. I’m OK with that. Just means that I will have to buy some blank 7″ jackets and make my own cover.

If you like hardcore, pick this up. Simple as that.

Comments
  1. marcus says:

    Hey Juan, thanks for drawing this to my attention. Never heard of it before. I’ll have to pick one up…

    The funny thing is that the first time I glanced at this post I thought it said the band contained Robert Pattinson. Ha!

  2. […] then morphed into Black Cross and then now just put out new music with Black God (which I did a write-up on a few weeks back). Duncan did d.biddle which was completely un-hardcore music. Very folksy and […]

Leave a comment