Deafheaven – Roads To Judah 12″ LP

Posted: May 7, 2011 by Juan D. in Record Nerds
Tags: , , ,

Oh Deafheaven. How do you manage to bend, mix, assimilate, and re-create such disparate genres like Black Metal and Shoegaze? I have no answer for that as much as I try to figure it out. Instead I’ll just settle for listening to this record at mind-shearing volume and using this as frontal assault in the on-going war I have with my asshole neighbors.

If you want a proper review of this record to get an idea of what it’s like, get your ass over to The 1st Five where I wrote one. It’s eloquently written and I use big words. Ha!

But for the vinyl…stick around.

Received this beast of a record yesterday and it’s superbly done as expected from Deathwish Inc. As with most DW releases, there’s a three colorway, but I opted to only get two. I guess times are indeed tough if I am only getting two of three colorways of DW releases. The exact pressing number (which I’m sure that’s all you fuckin’ nerds care about anyways) is not known as of yet.

There are three colors: Black/White Mix, Black & White Split, and White. All very much conducive and complementing the artwork.

Gatefold jacket? Check.

Insert with lyrics and info? Check.

Does it sound better than the mp3 download? Absolutely! This record sounds even more massive and expansive on vinyl. It feels as though a wall of sound just crumbles down all over you and crushes your pitiful little soul. Yeah, it’s that awesome. And I am looking very much forward to tormenting my neighbors with repeated listens of this.

Get stoked. I am.

Comments
  1. Nick_J says:

    Good looking record.

  2. Shawn says:

    Got my half n half copy yesterday. Unfortunately living in FL, and leaving a package on your doorstep all afternoon = warpage, but I’m hoping its not audible. I’ve got a clamp on my turntable. We’ll see. But, definitely love the record and the packaging.

  3. Juan D. says:

    I know what you mean all too well, Shawn. It has happened plenty of times to me too. But usually mostly with 7″s. The seem to warp a lot easier in the miserable FloriDUH! heat.

  4. Micah says:

    Thanks for the introduction on this one. I’ve been listening to less heavy music of late, and this pushed me right back in. I picked up the black/white swirl/mix and this is about all I’ve been listening to for the past week. I wrote a review of the album for the blog Synconation, as well. It’s at http://synconation.com/reviews/deafheaven-roads-to-judah/, if interested. It covers much of the same ground your review did. It’s hard not to discuss certain styles when listening to this album, but it really does come across as something new and interesting.

  5. Nick_J says:

    I got mine today and it is beautiful.

Leave a comment