Breather Resist – The Second Half 7″

Posted: March 9, 2013 by Juan D. in Record Nerds
Tags: , , ,

I was initially going to post some long-winded entry about how lazy I’ve been in posting about new records. And I have been beyond lazy. Maybe even uninspired. I’ve had some great records come in and re-discovered a few in my collection, but nothing to get me off my ass to write. So this will be a somewhat conscious effort to do something.

It’s no secret that I am big supporter of certain labels and whatever music they release. Regardless if I have never heard of the band, if they’re on a particular favorite label, I will more than likely end up buying it. And surely enjoying it to no end. The case was always 100% for certain with Initial Records. I’ve shed plenty of tears over them when the label closed its doors. But their discography was and still is unbeatable. It helped that I lived in Louisville, KY when they were in operation and I was able to get plenty of all that they put out. But I also missed a few things in the dark years when I was more concerned with partying and being in college than buying and listening to records.

So because of that I have been searching to fill in some of the gaps in my Initial Records collection. But I’ve been a bit passive aggressive about it. Not really making it a priority but when the opportunity does cross my path, then I go for it. And it happened this past week with Coliseum announcing that they’d be putting a vault sale of rare and out of print records from not only themselves but also any bands they’re associated with, past and present. So going down then list we had a few Coliseum test presses and out of print early releases. OK. A couple of Lords and Young Widows rarities. Cool. And then we had some Breather Resist. Interested. Even better, they had the Breather Resist 7″ done by Initial Records. Both colors and a test press. Easy no-brainer purchase.

DSCN3813

So luckily I was able to secure the Breather Resist The Second Half 7″ on green, clear, and the test press.

The entire run was limited to 1,000 on the two colors. I am not 100% sure on what the breakdown between the two colors within the 1,000 is. The green is numbered #4 out of 1,000.

DSCN3823

DSCN3824     DSCN3822

The clear is numbered 666 of 1,000.

DSCN3818

DSCN3819     DSCN3820

And the test press is 1 of 6. Simple test press of course.

DSCN3814

This is very much-welcomed addition to the Initial Records collection. Not to mention that it’s a killer 7″ with two great tracks.

And added enticement for the vault sale, which is still going on by the way (click here), is that 25% of the sales from all Coliseum Vault items will go to benefit the ongoing care and medical bills of Callum Robbins, the son of Coliseum producer and friend J. Robbins (Jawbox, Burning Airlines, Office Of Future Plans) who was born with Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). So that is also an enticement and reason to help out and also get some great records.

And oh yeah. They threw in a rejected test press of the Coliseum True Quiet 7″ that was released on Deathwish Inc. That was  nice touch.

DSCN3826

Now I can say that I have a Deathwish Inc. test press in my collection. Hurrah!

If you’re a record nerd with any Initial Records releases I may not have and you’re willing to sell or trade, hit me up. We can work something out. Hollah!

Leave a Reply

