Wolves In The Throne Room – Celestial Lineage 2xLP

Posted: November 20, 2011 by Juan D. in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , , , ,

It has been getting harder and harder to write up records and successfully express any type of excitement over a new release by any one band. Maybe I’m just getting burnt out with some music or even records. I do know that I am sick and tired over the attitudes of a few of these newjack collectors who are not only overzealous but also have inflated senses of entitlement. “Wahhh…I didn’t get the rarest version of the records?”…or some nonsense to that effect.

It is a bit hypocritical of me to be bitching about that since I tend to be a variant whore with certain bands. But hell, I don’t get my panties in a wad if I don’t get that one variant out of 50. It’s not crucial…if I didn’t get it, then it wasn’t meant to be.

What does any of this have to do with Wolves In The Throne Room’s Celestial Lineage 2xLP? Not a goddamn thing. Zero.

Let’s talk about WITTR. They play Black Metal. More specifically, Cascandian Black Metal. It’s a sub-genre. Just like what every band out there plays. There’s no longer a straight-up style being played by any one band anymore. It’s all an amalgamation of styles and sounds. At least it keeps things interesting.

I used to think that Black Metal was a relatively silly genre. Not as in it’s funny, but in that I couldn’t take it seriously. Going back to the whole Norwegian Black Metal origins and “let’s burn churches down” infamy, I saw it as a genre in which the bands took themselves way too seriously. So seriously that to me they borderline on caricature and comical. I was essentially writing off the genre and bands on what little I knew and the first few and unfair impressions. But then I started talking to my friend Alan who is probably the most metal guy I know. What I am with hardcore and punk and Deathwish Inc. and Hydra Head, Alan is into all types of metal and Southern Lord and obscure metal labels.

I had known of Wolves In The Throne Room for a while but didn’t really check them out more until I found out that Aaron Turner…and it all comes back to A. Turner doesn’t it…at least for this fanboy it does…was going to be working with the band on their new record. So I pre-ordered Celestial Lineage from Southern Lord as soon as it went up. And waited. And waited. People started getting their orders…and nothing here in FloriDUH!. I got impatient…and I rarely do but when I started hearing that friends had already gotten theirs and I had not, it was a very “What the fuck dude?!?!” moment. Even so much more when I went to Boston and stopped at a Newbury Comics and they had copies!

Adding even more impatience to the whole thing, Vacation Vinyl put up copies for sale. I ordered those with the expectation that I’d received those before the Southern Lord ones would show up. But all that ended when all copies arrived on the same day. Finally! Hurrah!

Three versions of the 2xLP are out there. Four if you count the regular black. And of course that counts.

Gold Vinyl. Limited to 500 from Southern Lord. This was the pre-order.

 

Blood Red Vinyl. Limited to 1,000. According to Vacation Vinyl this is the “mailorder” version. What that means, I have no idea.

 

Black w/ Gold Splatter Vinyl. Limited to 500. European pressing. Also got this one from Vacation.

According to the liner notes, Aaron Turner did some chanting on two songs, as did his wife Faith Coloccia. And Turner and Coloccia also had a hand in the album artwork design. Mainly on the lettering I believe.

This is a great record. I haven’t stopped listening to it since I received it. And thanks to WITTR, I have expanded my knowledge and familiarity of Black Metal and checked out a few other bands as well. My impressions of the genre and style have definitely changed for the better. I no longer see it as “silly” anymore…that’s for sure. Well, except those bands that feel the need to amp up their performances and corpse-paint just for the sake of shock value.

Comments
  1. pecabot says:

    That Blood Red version is a euro press as well.

Leave a Reply

