Whirr – June EP 7″

Posted: October 3, 2011 by Juan D. in Record Nerds
Tags: , , ,

I was initally going to do a pretty intense…and somewhat half-assed…post about The Melvins’ Endless Residency 8xLP box set. But since I received this beauty in the mail today, I 86’d that idea.

Just hot off the presses we have the WhirrJune EP 7″. I have been hooked on this band since hearing their Distressor LP earlier this year. And of course the ties the band has with Deafheaven, another recent favorite band. After putting Distressor, Whirr got signed to Tee Pee Records and put out this two-song EP as a tease for what is to come when they release their full-length sometime next year. I think.

Two songs…“Junebouvier” and “Sundae”…more shoegaze indie-pop wonderfulness. Limited to 250 copies on simple Coke Bottle Green. I’m a sucker for this color. I remember the first time I ordered a record via mail…way back a million years ago before the Internet you kids are all crazy about nowadays…and I received a 7” in Coke Bottle Green. I thought it was the coolest thing ever. And it still is!

The labels are plain and simple. And that right there is very complimentary in the simplicity of the music. Plus the non-descript lables pretty much indicate that the music should speak for itself.

This 7″ is such a tease!

I want to listen to more Whirr now! Needless to say I am pretty stoked for their full-length.

“Impatiently waiting since 1995”

Leave a Reply

