Samiam

Posted: September 6, 2011 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , ,

Holy shit! So when Samiam is one of your all time favorite bands and after years of hiatus come back with a full length it’s time for full on emotional breakdown.

As I’ve mentioned on this blog in the past, Samiam were that punk band that transformed the direction of my listening habits. The lyrics and the style of that bands songs just transcended anything I was listening to at the time. Don’t get me wrong, I was almost immediately introduced to other bands in the same emotional realm but Samiam were the band that led me down that path. Soar was fucking earth shattering to me when I heard it and really changed my whole punk rock vocabulary. Growing up, I didn’t know a lot of people who listened to Samiam but the people I did know were usually pretty rad people.

The album is called Trips and I’ve only spun it a couple times but so far I love it. Early word is that most people are really digging it. It doesn’t suffer from the terrible production issues that crippled their last album. The production is tight and clean just like you would expect from any classic Samiam record. I haven’t worked through all the lyrics but these guys usually have at least one song per album that tears me up inside.

I really like the jacket and art on this record. Great layout and color scheme. I got a White (which has some black swirling) vinyl  limited to 300 and still available HERE. There is also a full stream of this album on Samiam‘s website HERE.

I plan on burning this thing up in the near future.

Comments
  1. jensen says:

    My copy looks almost exactly the same. Could it be that there was some black vinyl left in the press when they started to make the white ones?

  2. Nick_J says:

    I’ve seen a bunch that look like that. It’s almost the same black pattern on several I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

