Black Lips

Posted: August 31, 2011 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , , ,

This is one of those albums that I was very enthusiastic about buying. I heard online months before the album was released that Mark Ronson was going to produce it. I really like Mark Ronson and I thought it would be really weird having him produce Black Lips, so it sounded like a really good idea to me. As far as Black Lips go, I really loved their last two albums so I though with Ronson’s assist they would make killer shit.

I get the record and its a great record, but like every other Black Lips album, it has its fair share of annoying songs that drive me nuts. I don’t know what it is about this band that wants to annoy me but I figure maybe in the end it might be a good thing. The production on Arabia Mountain might be a little more consistent from track to track but it is far from clean, which is awesome. The Ronson – Black Lips collaboration worked just fine as far as I can see.

I love the album art and vinyl for this album. Supposedly the wax is limited but god knows what that means.  If anyone does know, let me know and I’ll throw it up on here. My copy came with a 7″ but I have know idea if that’s limited too. Also, the record is really noisy at times, which blows.

I’m psyched about this write up cause I want to attach what has quickly become one my favorite videos of the year.

New Direction

Comments
  1. Hank Powers says:

    Yeah the marbled vinyl with the bonus 7″ was limited to 1000 copies worldwide. The other copies are black with no 7″.

Leave a Reply

