Zao

Posted: August 29, 2011 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , ,

So the people over at Broken Circles Records have done a pressing of the classic  Zao record  Liberate te ex Inferis. This record is one of my favorite Zao records and I was really excited to see it available. Broken Circles also did a pressing of Where Blood And Fire Bring Rest which is one of my favorite metal albums of all time. Both of these records are without a doubt my top two Zao albums.

I like the new album art , though I was a huge fan of the original art. Every once of venom is present on this pressing as the vinyl sounds great. The pressing history is, Black – 100 / Clear Red w/ Black Swirl – 200 / Opaque Gray Marble – 200. I really like the red. For some reason I think it matches the feel of the album.

I haven’t really kept up with these guys since Jesse Smith left the band but the records that lineup made were really brilliant. Zao are definitely one of the best bands my home state has ever produced. That band is so screwed up…. more issues than an episode of Jerry Springer. I remember being told Zao had broken up at least five times. How they’ve continued with the bizarre lineup changes over the years is ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

