Thou

Posted: August 11, 2011 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is the new record from Thou. It’s called The Archer & The Owle and it is bad ass.

I had never heard Thou even though I always saw them on the Robotic Empire webstore. One day I was at some department store and dude I know who is into all kinds of music suggested them. This dude knows his shit so I checked them out. Totally vicious sludge/doom metal but with this great spacey side too.  I really got hooked so I was pumped to see this record get put up for pre-order.

I will first start by saying that this is the hardest thing I have ever photographed in my life. I wanted to show the spot-gloss of birds all over the cover but the only way I could do it was by putting a shit ton of light on it. One thing was that the back didn’t have too much going on, so the camera was trying to focus on the spot-gloss and wouldn’t focus properly. Total bitch. In the end I just did what I could. I got a decent amount of the birds to show up but I think I could have worked at it and maybe got them all to show up without all the glare.

It’s funny listening to Thou at times cause you get into this Pelican like groove where it’s all blissful and then BOOM, Satan on vocals. The Nirvana cover really kind of freaked me out too. Fantastic band and another home run for Robotic Empire.

The album is stunning. One of the best looking jackets I’ve seen. Great heavy vinyl and fantastic art. 500 on opaque gray (mailorder/band only) and 1500 on translucent clear.

Comments
  1. Anon, Anon says:

    Could you post the lyrics to Cold World?

  2. Bryan says:

    Thanks a lot for the kind review. You can actually find lyrics to all of the songs on our website if you’re interested:
    http://noladiy.org/thou

    -Bryan

Leave a Reply

