The Felice Brothers

Posted: July 25, 2011 by Nick_J in Uncategorized

The new Felice Brothers album – Celebration, Florida is one of those records where a band goes off the rails and makes a record so void of what you thought they sounded like that you either hate it or celebrate it as genius. These guys did the genius thing. Celebration, Florida is just filled with randomness and that is exactly what I want at this stage in my life. Like a good 60’s rock record with endless shifting styles and feel, they spread it all over. I’ve read several reviews where the variety of sounds was talked about as a negative but it’s one of the best aspects of the record.

The Felice Brothers were roughly associated with the whole new-grass scene for years, though that isn’t really a fair assessment. That whole old world instrumentation gets left in the dust on this one…..pure rock. This new record kind of reminds me of Pink Floyd – The Wall in that it jumps all over, but in the end has an overall feeling that saturates the whole piece. I would be hard pressed to nail down what this album sounds like style wise, so I won’t even try.

This album has all the feel of a record that could easily make my top 5 albums of the year. That said, I was drunk as a bastard the first 10 or so times I played it and it was #1 with a RAAAAAAAA!!!!!! Fantastic record though and the video for Ponzi is one of the best I’ve ever seen.

These guys are put out by Fat Possum, who are killing shit right now. The fact is that all their records are 180 gram vinyl so they all sound great. I bought this and a Jay Reatard record at the same time and they both sound amazing.

Leave a Reply

