Foo Fighters (Record Store Day 2011)

Posted: May 14, 2011 by They Still Press Vinyl in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As I discussed in my write up for the Nirvana RSD release earlier this week, Record Store Day – mostly due to my work schedule – is always a bit of an adventure for me when it comes to getting even one of the things on my wishlist. This year I managed to get all three of the things that topped my list, which might well be a first.

I have been a Nirvana fan for, oh, 20 years or so now. Like so many others in my general age range I was in high school/junior high when I was introduced to Nirvana (I was a Freshman in high school if memory serves and my rough math is correct), but unlike a lot of people I know who were “into Nirvana” in high school I continued to be a fan of the band and actually dug into their earlier music prior to ‘Nevermind.’ Of course, Nirvana eventually ended in a most abrupt fashion and a bit of a musical void was left. Thankfully Dave Grohl got bored and decided to keep making music.

Dave Grohl is the single most talented musician in the world. There, I said it. Stop and think about what he’s done; NirvanaTenacious DQueens of The Stone AgeThem Crooked VulturesProbotthe FRESH POTS videoa pretty damn good impression of John Bonham…and that doesn’t even get into his time in the DC band Scream.

Of course his main gig these days is The Foo Fighters. And, fresh on the heels of the release of their latest studio album (and arguably the best album beginning to end they’ve released since ‘The Colour and The Shape’), the band put out a collection of cover songs for Record Store Day 2011.

With the exception of three ‘new’ cuts, all of these songs have been out and available in various forms for years now. The artists covered range from Paul McCartney, to Prince, to Thin Lizzy, to the Ramones…so it’s got a little bit of something for everybody. Very simple packaging here and the songs are pressed on a high quality black vinyl. A very good score all around really.

I got this album, as I mentioned in the previous Nirvana RSD write up, by working out a trade with a guy for the extra copy of ‘Hormoaning’ that I ended up with after the dust settled on RSD. This was one of the ‘hotter’ items of the day from what I can tell so I’m very glad…as a big time mark for Dave Grohl if nothing else…that I was able to snag one to rock on the turntable.

Leave a Reply

