Converge – Downpour / Serial Killer 5″

Posted: March 10, 2011 by Juan D. in Record Nerds
Tags: , , ,

Here’s one that you don’t see much of out there…or maybe I’m not paying too much attention.

Back in 1997, Converge released this 5″ single via the Ellington label out MA. The band had already released Petitioning the Empty Sky in ’96 and this single, with a new song and a Vio-Lence cover, was an almost stop-gap until their next album When Forever Comes Crashing was to be out on ’98. “Downpour” is typical Converge style of early days but with hints at the more metal-influenced sound that would become more prevalent in later releases. “Serial Killer” is probably Converge‘s most thrash-metal sounding songs ever…and it makes sense considering that the original band Vio-Lence, was a thrash metal band out of the San Francisco area whose contemporaries were other thrash bands like Death Angel and Exodus.

The 5″ was released in a run out of 1,000 and all hand-numbered in the back. It has been rumored that there were 500 on black and 500 on white. I’d like to get confirmation of this if anyone knows for sure.

The cover/insert folds to a mini-poster depicting the classic Converge “Sun Man” (I think he’s called that if I recall correctly) and also lyrics, info about the release, and a brief history lesson on Vio-Lence.

“Downpour” would go on to later be included in the Unloved and Weeded Out compilation LP in 1995 while “Serial Killer” would be in the Y2K EP in 1999.

I may be a Converge completist…or aspiring to be at least…so for now I only have the black version. And I got my hands on this one via the Vinyl Collective Secret Santa exchange this past holiday season. My secret santa probably already knew I am huge Converge fanboy so he batted one out of the park with this one.

Comments
  1. Nick_J says:

    I don’t know how many times I almost bought this record.

  2. wait, someone just GAVE this to you? Well shit.

  3. Juan D. says:

    Yeppers. My SS got it right big time.

  4. Andrew says:

    I think I have two of these on white (I def have one). They definitely pressed white ones, I’m not sure if the pressing split was 50/50 though.

Leave a Reply

