Lucero

Posted: January 19, 2011 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , ,

Album – Nobody’s Darling’s

Artist – Lucero

Purchased From – No Idea

I got an email from No Idea Records saying that Sabot Productions was releasing Ben Nichols (Lucero) solo album for the first time on vinyl. Since I was all about getting that record, I went over to the No Idea webstore. While I was looking around I noticed that Sabot had also re-released a couple of Lucero albums. These things were crazy cheap especially considering that they were 180 gram records. One was the brilliant Nobody’s Darling’s. I love this album with my heart and soul. It and Tennessee (which wasn’t re-released) are without a doubt my two favorite Lucero albums and I love that band.

I don’t really have any cool Lucero stories. When I saw them it was at a radio show taping and they were really tame. I mean the bass player was annihilated but they played perfect almost to the point of being boring. Nobody fell off the stage, in fact the people in the crowd were the most unruly of the bunch. Those fuckers had some beer in them. I listen to this album all the time and I don’t really skip anything on it. I would go as far as to call this album near perfect.

One thing I thought was cool is the fact that even though they produced an inner sleeve with art they also included an aftermarket inner sleeve that was lined, which is super fancy.

Although I love every song on this album equally I think I got a special place in my heart for Bikeriders.

Leave a Reply

