One

Posted: December 12, 2010 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , ,

Album – Remain

Artist – One

Purchased From – eBay.com

When I was a kid growing up in Morgantown, WV the first I ever heard of a punk show was from seeing one of the local punk kids hang up a flier at school when I was in 7th grade. The local punk kid was Jay Demko of the band One and later the band Lincoln. One of the first bands I ever saw was this band One. That said, they played a very important part in my being who I am today, especially considering I’m 34 and still listening to the same kind of music. Those early shows were a massive influence in my life and some of the best times of my youth. What I wouldn’t do to have been a couple years older. The amazing bands that came through town at that time were simply incredible being that we were just a small town in the hills of WV. We had amazing people keeping that scene together.

For you unfamiliar with ONE, they were early 90’s Emo/Hardcore similar to several other bands that this label Watermark put out and that populated PA at this time. The guitar sound of this record is the aspect of this band that really holds to the comparisons. Proof that the Punk scene in Morgantown during this time was robust, we cranked out a handful of bands like this, that completely held their own with the other bands of the time.

This records is a bit of an enigma for me. I remember there being this ONE tape that use to float around but this record I do not remember at all. The recording date on this album was 1991 but the release date is listed as 1993. I’m pretty sure this band was long gone in 1993. I didn’t run across this album till 1998 and then only on CD. Anyway, the other day I’m on ebay looking for Morgantown bands and I find a guy with several One records listed for $9.99 and I jumped at the chance. I don’t know how I never ran into this record back in the day but I’m glad to have it now.

This band and the bands like it were the precursor to what would become Art Monk Construction records.

Says there are 2 left at this time HERE.

Comments
  1. And now there’s only one remaining, Nick.

  2. marcus says:

    I first got into hardcore this record was relatively new. A lot of copies got over to the UK at that time and everyone liked it & it got good reviews, so I picked one up & loved it. Got the mp3s a couple of years ago and listeneed to it a lot again then.

    Anyway, in case you didn’t know, this band also released a 7″. It was called ‘China Blue’ and was released by a German label called ReCOREds. Email me if you want more info.

  3. Nick_J says:

    I think that 7″ is the tape I mentioned. I’ve never seen it though. If you have pics you should send them. I’d love to get my hands on that record but I bet it’s nearly impossible at this point.

Leave a Reply

