Daughters

Posted: December 6, 2010 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , ,

Album – Daughters

Artist – Daughters

Purchased From – Hydrahead

 

I could go off about how Daughters swan song is by far the best thing they ever did but this records is way more than that. This is thus far my favorite album of the year. I generally don’t get too pumped on new heavy records these days. I generally spend my time delving into the past  and don’t give newer heavy stuff much attention. That said, this album is fucking genius.

One of the first thing I noticed was the bass guitar and the kick drum on this album are out of this fucking world loud in the mix and it sounds brilliant. I’m currently playing it through two small bookshelf speakers and it’s rattling shit on the walls. The second thing that really stands out is the strange tempo changes but not the tempo changes that I expected from a Daughters record. The time changes are not to the typical grind blast beats but these swaying rhythms or 80’s bubblegum pop beats. This record is so strange and beautiful and I was genuinely shocked by it’s brilliance.

This may be a metal record, if you really want to call it that, but to me it is the definition of punk. Every time I play this album for people it makes them uncomfortable and they are usually completely put off by it. Sometimes that is really all I want out of a good record. This album manages to be completely challenging but yet totally catchy. That is something that Daughters lacked till this album.

My copy came with a bonus 7″ that has an album track and a non-album track.

Leave a Reply

