Graham Parker

Posted: December 2, 2010 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags:

Album – Squeezing Out The Sparks

Artist – Graham Parker

Purchased From – eBay

I got this sealed on ebay for $5 shipped. This album was released way back in 1979 and is fantastic.

I met this great guy through work who has a fucking vinyl library and he turned me on to this record . One day I’ll go over to his house and take a few flix of his insane collection. It’s ridiculous! I couldn’t even begin to tell you how many records he has but it is in the thousands.

One day my buddy with all the records comes into my work and brings me Graham Parker who I’d heard him rave about many times in the past. I take it home and it’s brilliant. I became an instant fan of this guy who was making records when I was still shitting my pants and hadn’t even heard of. If you have the opportunity to check out Graham Parker do it, especially if you like the vocal stylings of Elvis Costello. If you like punk and 80’s rock I fucking guarantee you will like this. This definitely one of those records you can have in your back pocket to blow all your friends away with.

Here are a couple songs off of this album.

Comments
  1. Bellboy says:

    As good as SOS is GP really did not get great until a few years later when he became the premier artist of our time. His most recent(not his best) is out in vinyl. For his best you should check out Struck By Lightning, Don’t Tell Columbus, and the more mellow 12 Haunted Episodes which is the second best American album ever.

  2. Nick_J says:

    Whats up party animal? Keep raging.

Leave a Reply

