Drowningman

Posted: September 15, 2010 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , , ,

Album – Weighted and Weighed Down – DEP Split – How They Light Cigarettes In Prison

Artist – Drowningman

Bought From – Hydrahead/Drowningman Merch Guy aka Simon Brody

In their heyday Drowningman were one of my favorite metalcore bands.  The first record of theirs that I bought was the ”Weighted and Weighed Down” 7″ that I bought directly from Hydrahead. That was back when Hydrahead were very small and you usually got your shit packed by Aaron Turner his damn self. I even remember an occasion where he made me a mix tape at request. The funny thing about Drowningman was that I was not immediately drawn to them. I bought their first full length “Busy Signal at the Suicide Hotline” and shortly after, the split with Dillinger Escape Plan. During that time I liked Drowningman but it wasn’t until the release of “How They Light Cigarettes In Prison” that I was completely blown away by them. That 7″ may pack the most bang for a 7″ of any out there. What a bad ass record. I think I bought that records off of the band at Krazy Fest the year that they played or maybe at another show. What a great slab of vinyl though.

”Weighted and Weighed Down” 7″

Drowningman/Dillinger Escape Plan – split 7″

“How They Light Cigarettes in Prison” 7″

Comments
  1. tre says:

    Weird. I just got a couple copies of the DM 7″ and the split with DEP.

  2. Nick_J says:

    It reminds me that I need to score a copy of ” …still loves you”. It is my favorite thing of theirs.

Leave a Reply

