Ryan Adams

Posted: September 10, 2010 by Nick_J in Record Nerds
Tags: , , ,

Album – Gold

Artist – Ryan Adams

Bought From – Crossroads CDs (Blacksburg, Virginia)

I’ve been in the process of buying all the Ryan Adams records for quite a while now. Yesterday, I picked up Gold, Follow The Lights and Demolition. This record is really strange because it is a non-gate fold with two discs. Cooler, is that five of the songs (side four) are only available on import CD and an OOP deluxe edition. The album art is both rad and super cheesy. I also can’t figure out why the vinyl has no liner notes, as the CD had a lot going on.

This album reminds me of the many times I’ve been out at Magic Mart or some other low rent store and they play “When Stars Go Blue”. I get all pumped, only to pay a little more attention and find out that it’s the Tim McGraw version…..rad (sarcasm).  I love Ryan Adams and wholeheartedly recommend his stuff to everyone. If you’ve never listened to Ryan Adams you should check out Cold Roses and Cardinology for they are my favorites.

Comments
  1. If I’m not mistaken, Nick, the ‘import CD’ version you mentioned was actually available when the album first released in 2001 as a 2-disc ‘special edition’ or some such thing wasn’t it? Because I have a 2 disc version and I bought it on release day.

  2. Nick_J says:

    I didn’t buy it when it came out so you’d be the one to ask.

  3. Awesome record. Love it.

  4. […] already covered Gold here once before and there’s not much different going on here compared to what Nick talked about; still a […]

Leave a Reply

